By Published: 3/8/2017 9:58:21 AM Custom Tag

Brad Mathews

Midampub’s MAC Player of the Year: Marcus Keene (Central Michigan, Guard)

No one had a bigger season in the MAC than Chippewas guard Marcus Keene. Not only did he lead the conference in scoring by almost 9 points per game but he led the nation in scoring at 29.6 points per game.

Keene was fifth in the league FT% knocking down 81.7% of his attempts. And he took a lot of free throws. No one took more in conference than his 252. That was good for fourth nationally.

Keene attempted an insane 324 threes on the season making a league best 116. He was the only MAC player to make more than 92. His attempts and makes were also national highs.

Despite all the shots he was still pretty efficient on the season knocking down 44.5 % from the field which was 30th in the league.

He wasn't just a volume shooter and scorer for the Chips. He finished third in the league in assists per game with 4.9 per game. He was 10th in assist to turnover ratio at 1.1.

Keene wasn't afraid to mix it up and help on the glass. He pulled in 4.5 per game which was tops among PGs in the conference.

Runner-up: Jimmy Hall, Kent State University

Midampub’s MAC Defensive Player of the Year: Tim Bond (Eastern Michigan, Wing)

There are few players in the league who are as versatile as Eastern Michigan's Tim Bond. He can guard three positions and no one in the league takes the ball away at the level Bond does.

He led the league in steals with 2.23 per game which was nine more than the next best total. His per game average was 12th best in the nation while he finished 11th in total steals.

He finished 14th in blocks in the MAC.

Runner-up: Dontay Caruthers, Buffalo

Midampub’s MAC Coach of the Year: Keith Dambrot (Akron University)

In such a strange MAC season where teams looked great one day and terrible the next, only one team was consistently above all others all season. The Akron Zips.

A couple late season bumps in the road was the only thing that made any other candidates get consideration. Despite some turnover on the roster, Dambrot won nearly as many games as he won the previous season with 24 regular season wins.

They enter the MAC Tournament as the number one seed looking for their fourth NCAA Tournament bid under Dambrot.

Dambrot has elevated the Zips to the elite program in the conference over the last several seasons.

Runner-up: Saul Phillips, Ohio University

Midampub’s MAC Sixth Man of the year: Nick Perkins (Buffalo, Forward)

Buffalo's Nick Perkins found his role off the bench to end the season. He finished fourth on the Bulls in scoring and first in rebounds.

He scored in double figures 21 times on the season. He provided the Bulls with an inside scoring and rebounder presence.

He has immense talent and should continue to excel as a Bull.

Runner-up: Josh Williams, Akron

Midampub’s MAC Freshman of the Year: Michael Weathers (Miami, Ohio , Guard)

The race for MAC Freshman of the Year was close as several freshmen threw their name in the hat by the end of the season. But one freshman played at a high level all season even when he was the focal point of opposing defenses.

Miami's Michael Weathers had the pressures of leading his team not only as a freshman but as a point guard. He was more than up to the task.

He led the Redhawks in scoring with 16.7 points, assists with 4.7, steals (1.8), and blocks (1.4). His scoring total was good for 7th in the league, his blocks led the league and his assists were fourth. He was third in the league with 201 attempts from the free throw line.

Weathers was also counted on being on the floor for the Redhawks. He led the team in minutes played.

He is a fantastic building block for the Redhawks over the next three seasons.

Runner-up: Jason Carter, Ohio University

Midampub’s MAC Newcomer of the Year: Marcus Keene (Central Michigan, Guard)

This is simple. A newcomer won Player of the Year so it makes sense he should win this award as well.

It will be hard to repeat his performance next season. And most Chippewas fans should hope he doesn't have to try.

Runner-up: Steve Taylor Jr, Toledo

Midampub’s All-MAC Team

First Team
Marcus Keene * Central Michigan Guard
Jaaron Simmons Ohio Guard
Isaiah Johnson Akron Center
Thomas Wilder Western Michigan Guard
Jimmy Hall Kent State Forward

Second Team
Taylor Persons Ball State Guard
Blake Hamilton Buffalo Forward
Kwan Cheatham Akron Forward
Steve Taylor Jr Toledo Forward
James Thompson Eastern Michigan Center

Honorable Mention
Michael Weathers Miami, Ohio Guard
Jonathan Williams Toledo Guard
Marin Maric Northern Illinois Center
Deon Edwin Kent State Guard
Braylon Rayson Central Michigan Guard
Tucker Haymond Western Michigan Forward
Willie Mangum Eastern Michigan Guard
Franko House Ball State Forward
Antino Jackson Akron Guard
Demajeo Wiggins Bowling Green Forward
CJ Massinburg Buffalo Guard
Zach Denny Bowling Green Guard

Midampub’s All-Freshmen Team

First Team
Michael Weathers * Miami, Ohio Guard
Jason Carter Ohio Forward
Reggie Jones Western Michigan Guard
Dylan Frye Bowling Green Guard
Eugene German Northern Illinois Guard

Second Team
David DiLeo Central Michigan Forward
Marcus Weathers Miami Forward
Tahjai Teague Ball State Forward
Luke Knapke Toledo Forward
Mitch Peterson Kent State Forward

Published: 3/8/2017 9:58:21 AM Custom Tag